Bad SQL Grammer: Implicit join when using r.fooClass.attributes[?]=?
Description
Attachments
Activity

Brett MeyerJuly 8, 2014 at 3:12 PM
Bulk rejecting stale issues. If this is still a legitimate issue on ORM 4, feel free to comment and attach a test case. I'll address responses case-by-case. Thanks!

Brett MeyerApril 7, 2014 at 5:45 PM
In an effort to clean up, in bulk, tickets that are most likely out of date, we're transitioning all ORM 3 tickets to an "Awaiting Test Case" state. Please see http://in.relation.to/Bloggers/HibernateORMJIRAPoliciesAndCleanUpTactics for more information.
If this is still a legitimate bug in ORM 4, please provide either a test case that reproduces it or enough detail (entities, mappings, snippets, etc.) to show that it still fails on 4. If nothing is received within 3 months or so, we'll be automatically closing them.
Thank you!

Darryl MilesNovember 2, 2008 at 3:45 PM
HQL:
13:34:03,477 DEBUG QueryTranslatorImpl:241 - HQL: SELECT r FROM org.hibernate.test.joinedmapfilter.Toplevel AS r WHERE r.toplevelId=? AND r.productDetail.attributes[?]=?
SQL (written out nicer) :
13:34:03,478 DEBUG QueryTranslatorImpl:242 - SQL:
select
toplevel0_.toplevel_id as toplevel1_0_,
toplevel0_.long_value_one as long2_0_,
toplevel0_.product_detail_id as product3_0_,
toplevel0_.description as descript4_0_
from
toplevel toplevel0_,
/////////////// MISSING TABLE NOT EMITTED BY HIB "product_detail productdet1_, " ///////////////
product_detail_attrs attributes2_
where
toplevel0_.product_detail_id=productdet1_.product_detail_id
and productdet1_.product_detail_id=attributes2_.product_detail_id
and attributes2_.name = ?
and toplevel0_.toplevel_id=?
and attributes2_.value=?
I inserted the missing: "product_detail productdet1_" in the FROM clause. That missing table is the reason for this bug report (just in case it hasn't been obvious so far).

Darryl MilesNovember 2, 2008 at 3:39 PM
Attached is a logging output of testcase here are the notable entries.
13:34:02,609 DEBUG DotNode:591 - getDataType() : productDetail -> org.hibernate.type.ManyToOneType(org.hibernate.test.joinedmapfilter.ProductDetail)
13:34:02,610 DEBUG DotNode:390 - dereferenceEntityJoin() : generating join for productDetail in org.hibernate.test.joinedmapfilter.Toplevel {no alias} parent = [ ( . ( . toplevel0_.toplevel_id productDetail ) attributes ) ]
13:34:02,616 DEBUG FromElement:131 - FromClause{level=1} : org.hibernate.test.joinedmapfilter.ProductDetail (no alias) -> productdet1_
13:34:02,617 DEBUG FromClause:257 - addJoinByPathMap() : r.productDetail -> product_detail productdet1_
13:34:02,618 DEBUG FromReferenceNode:74 - Resolved : r.productDetail -> toplevel0_.product_detail_id
Notice here the 2nd FROM_FRAGMENT of ImpliedFromElement with '' as the getText(). This should be 'product_detail productdet1_' you can see it knows the tableName and tableAlias but the getText() is blank.
13:34:02,680 DEBUG AST:258 - — SQL AST —
-[SELECT] QueryNode: 'SELECT' querySpaces (product_detail_attrs,toplevel,product_detail)
+-[SELECT_CLAUSE] SelectClause: '{select clause}'
+-[ALIAS_REF] IdentNode: 'toplevel0_.toplevel_id as toplevel1_0_' {alias=r, className=org.hibernate.test.joinedmapfilter.Toplevel, tableAlias=toplevel0_} | ||
-[SQL_TOKEN] SqlFragment: 'toplevel0_.long_value_one as long2_0_, toplevel0_.product_detail_id as product3_0_, toplevel0_.description as descript4_0_' | ||
+-[FROM_FRAGMENT] FromElement: 'toplevel toplevel0_' FromElement{explicit,not a collection join,not a fetch join,fetch non-lazy properties,classAlias=r,role=null,tableName=toplevel,tableAlias=toplevel0_,origin=null,colums={,className=org.hibernate.test.joinedmapfilter.Toplevel}} | ||
+-[FROM_FRAGMENT] ImpliedFromElement: '' ImpliedFromElement{implied,collection join,not a fetch join,fetch non-lazy properties,classAlias=null,role=null,tableName=product_detail,tableAlias=productdet1_,origin=toplevel toplevel0_,colums={toplevel0_.product_detail_id ,className=org.hibernate.test.joinedmapfilter.ProductDetail}} | ||
-[FROM_FRAGMENT] ImpliedFromElement: 'product_detail_attrs attributes2_' ImpliedFromElement{implied,collection join,not a fetch join,fetch non-lazy properties,classAlias=null,role=org.hibernate.test.joinedmapfilter.ProductDetail.attributes,tableName={none},tableAlias=attributes2_,origin=toplevel toplevel0_,colums={,className=null}} | ||
+-[SQL_TOKEN] SqlFragment: 'toplevel0_.product_detail_id=productdet1_.product_detail_id' | ||
-[SQL_TOKEN] SqlFragment: 'productdet1_.product_detail_id=attributes2_.product_detail_id and attributes2_.name = ?' | ||
+-[DOT] DotNode: 'toplevel0_.toplevel_id' {propertyName=toplevelId,dereferenceType=4,propertyPath=toplevelId,path=r.toplevelId,tableAlias=toplevel0_,className=org.hibernate.test.joinedmapfilter.Toplevel,classAlias=r} | ||
| +-[ALIAS_REF] IdentNode: 'toplevel0_.toplevel_id' {alias=r, className=org.hibernate.test.joinedmapfilter.Toplevel, tableAlias=toplevel0_} | |
| -[IDENT] IdentNode: 'toplevelId' {originalText=toplevelId} | |
-[PARAM] ParameterNode: '?' {ordinal=0, expectedType=org.hibernate.type.LongType@6e3e5e} | ||
+-[DOT] DotNode: '.' {propertyName=attributes,dereferenceType=3,propertyPath=attributes,path=r.productDetail.attributes,tableAlias=attributes2_,className=null,classAlias=null} | ||
| +-[DOT] DotNode: 'toplevel0_.product_detail_id' {propertyName=productDetail,dereferenceType=1,propertyPath=productDetail,path=r.productDetail,tableAlias=productdet1_,className=org.hibernate.test.joinedmapfilter.ProductDetail,classAlias=null} | |
|
| +-[ALIAS_REF] IdentNode: 'toplevel0_.toplevel_id' {alias=r, className=org.hibernate.test.joinedmapfilter.Toplevel, tableAlias=toplevel0_} |
|
| -[IDENT] IdentNode: 'productDetail' {originalText=productDetail} |
| -[IDENT] IdentNode: 'attributes' {originalText=attributes} | |
-[PARAM] ParameterNode: '?' {ordinal=1, expectedType=null} |
There is also ./core/src/main/java/org/hibernate/hql/ast/SqlGenerator.java around line 249. I guess my missing table in the FROM clause is one of these "ghosts".
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// HACK ALERT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
// Attempt to work around "ghost" ImpliedFromElements that occasionally
// show up between the actual things being joined. This consistently
// occurs from index nodes (at least against many-to-many). Not sure
// if there are other conditions
//
// Essentially, look-ahead to the next FromElement that actually
// writes something to the SQL
while ( right != null && !hasText( right ) ) {
right = ( FromElement ) right.getNextSibling();
}
if ( right == null ) {
return;
}
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Darryl MilesNovember 2, 2008 at 3:35 PM
Logging output of testcase.
Details
Assignee
UnassignedUnassignedReporter
Darryl MilesDarryl MilesComponents
Affects versions
Priority
Critical
Details
Details
Assignee
Reporter

Please find this test case atteched to demonstrate the bug, maybe you can add to the hibernate distribution for future testing and piece of mind for me.
The error:
Testsuite: org.hibernate.test.joinedmapfilter.JoinedMapFilterTest
Tests run: 1, Failures: 0, Errors: 1, Time elapsed: 0.498 sec
Testcase: testJoinedMapFilter took 0.495 sec
Caused an ERROR
could not execute query
org.hibernate.exception.SQLGrammarException: could not execute query
at org.hibernate.exception.SQLStateConverter.convert(SQLStateConverter.java:67)
at org.hibernate.exception.JDBCExceptionHelper.convert(JDBCExceptionHelper.java:43)
at org.hibernate.loader.Loader.doList(Loader.java:2147)
at org.hibernate.loader.Loader.listIgnoreQueryCache(Loader.java:2028)
at org.hibernate.loader.Loader.list(Loader.java:2023)
at org.hibernate.loader.hql.QueryLoader.list(QueryLoader.java:393)
at org.hibernate.hql.ast.QueryTranslatorImpl.list(QueryTranslatorImpl.java:338)
at org.hibernate.engine.query.HQLQueryPlan.performList(HQLQueryPlan.java:172)
at org.hibernate.impl.SessionImpl.list(SessionImpl.java:1121)
at org.hibernate.impl.QueryImpl.list(QueryImpl.java:79)
at org.hibernate.test.joinedmapfilter.JoinedMapFilterTest.testJoinedMapFilter(JoinedMapFilterTest.java:116)
at org.hibernate.test.TestCase.runTest(TestCase.java:250)
at org.hibernate.test.TestCase.runBare(TestCase.java:316)
Caused by: java.sql.SQLException: Unknown table 'productdet1_' in where clause
at com.mysql.jdbc.MysqlIO.checkErrorPacket(MysqlIO.java:2928)
at com.mysql.jdbc.MysqlIO.sendCommand(MysqlIO.java:1571)
at com.mysql.jdbc.MysqlIO.sqlQueryDirect(MysqlIO.java:1666)
at com.mysql.jdbc.Connection.execSQL(Connection.java:2994)
at com.mysql.jdbc.PreparedStatement.executeInternal(PreparedStatement.java:936)
at com.mysql.jdbc.PreparedStatement.executeQuery(PreparedStatement.java:1030)
at org.hibernate.jdbc.AbstractBatcher.getResultSet(AbstractBatcher.java:186)
at org.hibernate.loader.Loader.getResultSet(Loader.java:1668)
at org.hibernate.loader.Loader.doQuery(Loader.java:662)
at org.hibernate.loader.Loader.doQueryAndInitializeNonLazyCollections(Loader.java:224)
at org.hibernate.loader.Loader.doList(Loader.java:2144)
... 25 more
SELECT r FROM com.company.Toplevel AS r WHERE r.toplevel=? AND rec.productDetail.attributes[?]=?
Also my recent post: http://forum.hibernate.org/viewtopic.php?t=966374&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=
This testcase has been tested with 3.1.3 and 3.2.0-ga.
2nd problem:
There is also another situation in the testcase which I found through serendipity which causes a NPE inside hibernate because I misspelled "r" as "rec". Check out the commented out section and swap over the createQuery() lines to demonstrate that NPE.